Two Favors

I don’t ask much out of you, my faithful godsnowhere reader.  But, just this once, I’m asking two favors of you…

 

#1 – Watch Friday Night Lights

I think this is the best show on television (which isn’t saying much because I don’t watch any other shows on TV, other than Sesame Street and Sid the Science Kid).  The best thing to say about FNL is that it’s real.  Really real.  Like, the realist real you can really imagine.  The football scenes aren’t overly choreographed.  The depiction of football’s place in a random Texas town, from what I’ve read, is dead-on.  Even the interactions between parents/children, teachers/parents, coaches/parents, parents/parents, and teens/teens are brutally authentic.  You could do a lot worse on a Friday night…and probably not a whole lot better.  It’s only 3 episodes into the season, so it’s easy to catch up on.  Sadly, it seems that FNL might be in its last season, which means that 21 Jump Street, My So Called Life, and Boomtown will have a new comrade at the Table of the Criminally Underappreciated.  That is unless you start watching!

 

#2 – Read About the Gospel According to Willie

Emily did a great job recapping a random encounter we had with a homeless dude in New Orleans named “Willie the Bike Man.”  Take a few minutes to read her story and listen to the audio of our 2am songfest.

(Note, the recording was made on my BlackBerry Curve 8330; played through the speaker on the phone; recorded through the air with Garage Band on my MacBook; converted to an mp3 file; paired with pictures of homeless people on YouTube.  Hopefully we can get a more “pure” version of the original digital file, once my phone & computer start playing nice with each other.)

 

 

Now, was that so difficult?  I didn’t think so…

One Response to Two Favors

  1. Kara says:

    Yes, apparently it is difficult. I haven’t done either yet.

Leave a Reply

