Disappointing

Our middle child, 4-year old Isaac, is a a fickle sleeper.  Even something as harmless as a 20 minute afternoon cat-nap will render him sleepless until at at least the witching hour of MIDNIGHT.  He’s been this way since he was almost 3.  It’s really frustrating; but a cool byproduct of his temporary insomnia is that Allison and I are treated to a new round of “Isaacisms”.  

The way we deal with his sleeplessness is to involve him in some of our nighttime rituals after his siblings have long since slumbered – cleaning the house, running to the grocery store, trips to church, etc.  Tonight it was a trip to Hy-Vee for milk and cereal, followed by a trip to McDonald’s to satisfy Allison’s late-night hankering for McNugget’s.  When we arrived at the drive thru window, I recognized the McEmployee as one of my former Confirmation students.  We struck up a brief / awkward conversation before I was on my way with fried chicken parts and BBQ sauce.

Isaac, curious about the fact that I was familiar with the bearer of the McNuggets, asked a question:

 

Isaac – How do you know that person?  Do you come here a lot?

Me – I used to teach him in Confirmation class

Isaac – Does he still go to our church?

Me – No, he doesn’t.

Isaac – What church does he go to?

Me – I don’t think he goes to any church.  He stopped going after Confirmation.

(pause)

Isaac – I bet that makes you really disappointed, doesn’t it?

 

It did make me disappointed…but, more than anything, I was surprised at Isaac’s ability to empathize with how I might be feeling.  It’s nights like tonight that I’m reminded of one thing — parenthood sure is a wild and unpredictable ride!

5 Responses to Disappointing

  1. Laura says:

    If things hadn’t been “taken care of”, I would think that Ally is knocked up with those McNuggets cravings. She’s a Nuggnut, huh?

  2. Erik says:

    Yeah, I think she’s having sympathy hunger-pangs, since both of her sisters are prego.

  3. Laura says:

    That’s a good possibility…

  4. knock says:

    Wisdom from the mouthes of babes my friend…from the mouths of babes. I don’t know why we bother to read books (well, some of us) by great writers and great thinkers. I think that we just need to engage our children in conversation and we will learn all we need to learn.
    Or maybe I have read toomany books by mediocre thinkers and writers….maybe it was all those Joan Collins books in the 80’s

  5. Erik says:

    I totally agree, Knock (although not about the Joan Collins books…I don’t know much about them.) Perhaps this is why I went on a 13-year hiatus from reading books.

Leave a Reply

