Simon Says

I spent waaay too much time in Yuppieville today – a.k.a. the Jordan Creek Town Center.  Between having lunch with a friend, getting my computer a tune-up, watching a teeny-bop love story about vampires (Twilight), and shopping and eating with the family…I spent enough time in at the mall to tide me over until 2011.

There were a few highlights of the day, however:

  • The Apple Store guy hooked me up with $100+ worth of refurbishments, just because I had questions about my battery life and other stuff.  I’m also discovering that an “archive / install” can make a lot of things better.
  • There are few things more satisfying than attending a matinee…even if the movie features vampires playing baseball.
  • Watching the way Anna and Isaac look out for Evan when playing at the germ-factory / play-place.
  • Bourbon Chicken, steamed veggies, and rice at the Chinese food place in the food court tickled my tummy

 

However, the best part of the day was the surprise present Allison gave me – a book of all of Paul Simon’s lyrics in poem-form.  Some of the lyric pages are copies of the scribbles he made on legal paper when the song was first written.  For someone who adores Paul Simon, this gift made my entire week!  So, kudos to the bestest wife in the world.  If that book is the reward for surviving 8 hours in a suburban mall, it was well-worth the sacrifice.

Paul Simon Lyrics

2 Responses to Simon Says

  1. Clint says:

    What’s an archive/install?

  2. Erik says:

    Here’s what the Apple Support website says about “Archive and Install”. http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1710

    I’m not sure what it does – I just know it made my MacBook awesome again (runs faster, fewer “unexpected error” messages, longer battery life, etc). The folks at the Apple Store did it for free…and I’m forever grateful.

Leave a Reply

