Overheard at Panera

I was disappointed to overhear a bigoted conversation between a couple of seemingly sweet old ladies sitting behind me at Panera the other day.  

  • The reason Jews haven’t been wiped off the face of the earth is because Christians have protected them.  Israel exists because of us!
  • Barack Obama is a Muslim, I don’t care what he says, he’s a Muslim.  I mean, his middle name is Hussein, for God’s sake!
  • I see the crowds Obama attracts, and it reminds me what happened at Jonestown.
  • I don’t despise Obama, I’m scared to death of him.  I don’t trust him.  I don’t know him that well, but just because he’s inspirational doesn’t mean he’s a good man.  Look at Hitler – he was able to inspire people.  I feel like the same thing is going to happen with Obama.
  • We’re not the United States of America – we’re a united global society because we welcome all these immigrants.

I’ve taken a break from politics since early November…and I have no desire to re-enter the discussion any time soon.

 

One Response to Overheard at Panera

  1. Gideon says:

    Sounds like one of my family reunions..

    :sighs:

Leave a Reply

