Extravaganza

I’m attending the 2009 ELCA Youth Ministry Network “Extravaganza” in January.  

I haven’t been to an “E” since 2006, and I’m really looking forward to attending this one in particular.  I anticipate it being 1/3 continuing education, 1/3 networking, and 1/3 idea-swapping.  

At least that’s my hope.

What will be unique about this year’s “E” is that I will be joined by colleagues from the Des Moines area.  In the past, I have spent all of my time catching up with friends I never get to see.  While this is fun, I’m looking forward to experiencing the same event with people I will see again on a regular basis.  I believe it will make it easier to implement what I’ve learned at the “E” in my congregational context.

At least that’s my hope.

I haven’t been this jazzed about a continuing education event in quite some time (ever?).  I’m most looking forward to experiencing New Orleans before I return in July with 25 people from the church.  I’m also intrigued to hear what Dr. Christian Scharen has to say.  

I know I have a handful of readers who are attending the ’09 “E”.  What are you most looking forward to about the Extravaganza?  What do you hope to get out of the experience?

I’m sure I’ll have a lot more to say about the Extravaganza in the weeks ahead – once we get a little closer to the date.  (My flight leaves in 55 days – but who’s counting!)

At least that’s my hope.

4 Responses to Extravaganza

  1. Jake says:

    I think I’m looking forward to getting a better handle on what Lutherans think about youth ministry. That is, getting a denominational perspective OUTSIDE of the generic, Youth Specialties and Group heavy curriculum, etc.

  2. Kara says:

    See you there!

  3. […] education event / town hall gathering called The Extravaganza.  (Avid readers will recall my enthusiasm for attending the E’09 next […]

  4. […] As I mentioned a few weeks ago, I’m really looking forward to the ELCA Youth Ministry Network Extravaganza […]

Leave a Reply

