Surgery

I’m in the waiting room at Allen Hospital in Waterloo, IA waiting for my dad to come out of knee replacement surgery.  He blew out his knee in the early 1970s.  His knee has given him problems my entire life…but it’s gotten really bad in the last few years.  He had been postponing the surgery far too long.  I’m glad he’s getting it done.  Here’s what it looks like:

This is the first time he’s been in the hospital since he got the flu in the mid 1980s.  So this is kind of a big deal in the Ullestad household.  If you’re inclined to pray, perhaps you could offer one for my dad and the doctors.

 

UPDATE (9:41 pm)

Everything went great with the surgery.  He even got out a little faster than anticipated.  There was a little snafoo with pain management when he woke up, but they did something with the nerves in his leg to fix the problem right away.  We had a good conversation with him after he was resting comfortably.  His pastor stopped by to chat and pray, which I think Dad really appreciated.  He’s supposed to be up walking around tomorrow afternoon, which I can’t believe.  He goes home Thursday afternoon.  

The ride home with Grandma & Grandpa was enjoyable.  It’s special to have time like that to listen to their stories.  I think we all felt good about how everything went at the hospital.

4 Responses to Surgery

  1. Kara says:

    why are there boyles on the “before knee” it makes it look so gross

  2. Erik says:

    I think it’s to make you feel better about sawing off part of your knee and having a metal casing around it.

  3. Ryan Houts says:

    I can’t believe he’s walking tomorrow already!! I had to wait 8 weeks!! but I didn’t get the full replacement, i just got a cadaver’s ACL.

    Has anyone made an Anakin Skywalker analogy yet? Because that “after” picture looks a lot like what I imagine Darth Vader’s knee looks like.

    But I can’t imagine Rev. Dr. Dr. Steve joining the Sith.

  4. Steve Ullestad says:

    The “boils” are supposed to indicate spots of arthritis. I had some of that but the biggest need for the replacement was that the upper and lower bone had been grinding on each other for a couple of decades or so. My leg had started to “pull in” as the inner part of the knee wore down. At any rate, it now is nice and straight with a flat foundation for it all to function like the replacement picture indicates. And if all goes well, within a couple of months I’ll be painfree in my knee for the first time since June 1971.

    All is going well. Between the exercise machine and physical therapy, I’m working the knee between 7-8 hours. It seems to be paying off.

    There will be eight weeks of “monitored” therapy with appointments three times a week plus daily exercises and then ongoing exercises after that.

Leave a Reply

