Reclaiming Paul Recap

My brain hasn’t been this tired in a while.  With no disrespect intended towards the people I encounter on a regular basis, I don’t think I’ve ever been in direct contact with this many intellectual heavyweights in such a condensed period of time.  This has, inevitably, led me to become overwrought with ideas.  I’m hoping to work through them in the days ahead (once I finish my writing project for AFP)…but here are a few quick reflections on the Emergent / Nazerene environment:

  • Contrary to popular belief, Lutherans do not hold a corner on the market of grace-based theology.
  • Emergent church leaders prefer to discuss ideas in the presence of micro brew beer
  • Paul was a church-planter
  • Kansas City is an underrated city – great BBQ, fun bars, and tons of downtown construction
  • It’s impossible to be neutral in your opinion of Tony Jones
  • The future of the ELCA just might rest in its ability to engage in the Emergent conversation
  • People with PhD’s are rarely the most intelligent and never the most interesting people in the room
  • Sonic ice cream in a styrofoam cup will remain in a solid state for at least 90 minutes
  • A pre-req for being Emergent is odd facial hair, thick black-rimmed glasses, and shirts with buttons

It was an excellent conference; though not for the things that were on the agenda, but for the things that happened organically.  I suppose that is true for most conferences…and I am going to another one in early December.  Time to go home and see the family…

5 Responses to Reclaiming Paul Recap

  1. Tim says:

    lol – so true on a number of these. especially the micro brews and the organic conversations.

    Honestly, I think the agendas/presentations serve as the proposed reason we get together. But the are the conversation starters. At one point, I was getting a little frustrated that some messier/harder topics were not being covered but as time went on, these conversations were happening all around me.

    So you’re going to the Great Emergence?

  2. godwillsaveus says:

    “A pre-req for being Emergent is odd facial hair, thick black-rimmed glasses, and shirts with buttons”

    This was my favorite.

    It would be nice if Lutherans could focus on their Grace theology and not be distracted by social justice and human sexuality.

  3. It was nice to meet you, Erik. Can we eat more BBQ and drink more beer in December?

    Next time you see the vaunted Dave Basler, ask him what the point of the Priesthood of All Believers is, if he sends his pastor friends to conferences instead of attending himself. That ought to fix his wagon.

  4. Erik says:

    Mike – I’m trying to work my schedule so I can attend the December event…but it’s looking bleak. Regardless, it was great to meet you, and I hope to stay connected with what’s going on in your life through your excellent blog! Blessings to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

