Say WHAT???

The invocation at a McCain rally in Davenport, IA earlier today went a little something like this:

“I would also pray, Lord, that your reputation is involved in all that happens between now and November, because there are millions of people around this world praying to their god – whether it’s Hindu, Buddha, Allah – that his opponent wins, for a variety of reasons,” Conrad said.

“And Lord, I pray that you would guard your own reputation, because they’re going to think that their god is bigger than you, if that happens. So I pray that you will step forward and honor your own name with all that happens between now and Election Day.”

I was watching the news and heard this “prayer”, but was convinced that I had drank some wicked apple cider, which caused me to hallucinate a little.  The offending pastor is the Rev. Arnold Conrad, former pastor of the Grace Evangelical Free Church in Davenport.  The implication seems to be that Barack Obama is the candidate for the non-Christian “gods”, even though Obama is expressly and unashamedly Christian.  I’m also wondering about the non-Christians who are voting for Sen. McCain.  Are they “dishonoring God’s reputation” by supporting him?

When are the people in charge of campaigns going to learn to stop giving microphones to stupid people???

2 Responses to Say WHAT???

  1. Erik,

    I personally wouldn’t pray a prayer like this for an invocation for a campaign event. I don’t know what was going on in his heart and mind. Perhaps he was nervous, perhaps that isn’t what he meant.

    I can say that I have met Pastor Conrad and one thing that he’s not is stupid.

    Let’s show a little grace toward a fellow brother in Christ. Perhaps one day you’ll find somebody blogging about something you’ve said or done.

  2. Erik says:

    I appreciate Shane’s comments, as they help me to remember to “hate the sin and not the sinner”. Pastor Conrad is probably not stupid…but I believe that what he said was.

    Regarding the notion that someone might someday be blogging about something I’ve said or done…I would hope that someone could care enough about me to hold me accountable when I do / say things that are out of line.

    This is why I appreciate Shane’s reminder…

Leave a Reply

