Hey Dad, Grab Me A Beer!

It’s no surprise to most of us that teenagers do illegal things. Staying out past curfew, speeding, smoking, and drinking seem to be high on the list of no-nos that young people enjoy. However, I was surprised to discover today that 40% of teens who drank in the last month said they got it for free from an adult.

I’ve become increasingly aware of a justification that is common among suburban parents. It usually goes something like this, “I don’t want my kid to drink…but if they do, I want them to do it in my house where I know they’re safe,” which is looming to supplant the most tried and true of all parent excuses, “I drank when I was their age, so I can’t tell them not to drink now. It would be hypocritical.”

I’m am less and less proud to call myself a member of the Fraternity of Parents. At least we’re raising a generation of savvy, street-smart children who know how to work the system and dupe people into getting what they want…because the people in charge are too busy focusing on things that don’t really matter. This all reminds me of a billboard I saw that said:

“If you’re their friend, who is their parent?”

Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to get Evan a shot of Kahlua to mix with the milk in his bottle. At least he’s doing it at home where I know he’ll be safe!

One Response to Hey Dad, Grab Me A Beer!

  1. Nicole says:

    I’ve been reading this book called “A Nation of Wimps: The High Cost of Invasive Parenting”….for fun, actually. Pretty interesting and sad, but a little too text-booky. Through the whole process of doing my Master’s and teaching for 7 years, I’ve become really passionate about watching how parents handle situations when it comes to school, sports, auditioning, life, etc. What kills me the most is having to teach life-lessons at school and being the “bad guy” because it’s not happening at home. When did the word “NO” leave the English language?

Leave a Reply

