Dam Tired

Yesterday was my 4th consecutive year of participating in the Dam to Dam run. Known as “Iowa’s Distance Classic”, the race gathers over 5,000 people on a point-to-point route from the Saylorville Dam north of Des Moines to the Locust Ave. Dam downtown. Here’s the route…

I started preparing for this race about 10 weeks ago. About halfway into the training, I started experiencing a lingering issue with my right calf. With the “injury”, I reduced my running from 5 times / week to barely 2 times. It turned out that this made me barely more prepared for the race than last year’s ill-fated attempt at running without any sort of preparation.

I’m not sure what was more disappointing – finishing poorly, or letting it bother me that I finished poorly. The Dam to Dam is such an overwhelming experience; the numbers, the distance, the volunteers, the cheering crowds. It is both awe-inspiring and humbling to be part of such an event…just to be able to finish the race upright is no small task.

And yet, I had hoped for more. It’s easy to make excuses, but there really are none worth making. It’s just as well. I’m glad I was able to complete the race, and now I set my sights on the Des Moines Half Marathon in October. I can only hope I fare better in 20 weeks…

Leave a Reply

