The OTHER Trinity

In Confirmation class, I teach young people that the Apostles Creed is a statement of our faith in the Holy Trinity – God the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. (Hopefully this isn’t a foreign concept to most of my readers.)

Though I might be walking the thin line of blasphemy, I am here to profess my faith in another triune deity – the Trifecta of Mexican Grill Restaurants…namely, Panchero’s, Qdoba, and Chipotle. If you’ve not visited any of these establishments, I’ll clue you in. It’s like a Mexican Quizno’s…only in this analogy, Taco Bell can be compared to two slices of white bread and a slice of bologna. These places all function as a variation-on-a-theme; burritos, quesadillas, soft-shell tacos, etc. Each one offers slightly different ways of preparing their meats / salsas / tortillas, but they’re all pretty much the same.

My allegiance tends to shift between Panchero’s and Qdoba, mainly because they’re the closest to where I live and work. However, I have friends and family in larger cities that all seem to prefer Chipotle. The problem is, there is no such restaurant in the entire state of Iowa.

But on May 30, all that will change!

Chipotle is coming to Valley West Mall this Friday, and I couldn’t be more thrilled. Not only is Chipotle coming to Iowa…it’s located less than 1 mile from my house!!! Needless to say, I’ll be dining there for lunch (and possibly supper) the day it opens. In fact, any faithful godsnowhere readers who show up at 11:00 on 5/30 gets lunch on me.

Chipotle Burrito

Leave a Reply

